The Fear of Silence

I am trying to learn to appreciate the silence,
to stop myself from suffocating every second of sobriety with shallow syllables
and short-sighted sound waves;
speaking simply to shade in the space around me to convince myself i exist.

I was hoping,
that if i caught the ocean on a day where she is still;
she could teach me how to take up space without crowding out the silence.
That if I found the tide lines my breath leaves in my throat i would stop feeling the need to make her bleed from all this screaming.

My breathing is sound enough to declare my existence.

Quiet child,
you can stop shattering the silence now.

Leave a Reply

